But Not Starbucks.

Ruby: (answering phone) H’llo?

Ginger: Oh, good, you’re up.

Ruby: Woomph? Btz frclahk…whoyurup?

Ginger: Yeah…you’re gonna need to repeat that in English for me.

Ruby: No.

Ginger: Listen, we need the name of that place you and I went to that one time? You know…the place with the coffee?

Ruby: Starbucks.

Ginger: Yeah, that’s not going to work for us…

Ruby: Ginger, it’s four o’clock in the morning! Don’t you have to work in…some…hours?

Ginger: That’s why we need the COFFEE…are you always this grumpy in the morning?

Ruby: …who is ‘WE?’

Ginger: Um…funny story…

Ruby: Is it a short funny story?

Ginger: It can be.

Ruby: Make it that.

Ginger: It’s not as funny when it’s short…

Ruby: Ginger…

Ginger: Okay, fine, but you won’t get the punchline. We is made up of me and Harrison. Harry.

Ruby: …Harrison?

Ginger: My Starbucks barista. See? It was much funnier when you let me tell the whole thing. Harry’s laughing…

Ruby: I think I need more to work with here…

Ginger: Well, you couldn’t make it to the movie tonight cause you have a life and stuff—

Ruby: I’m leaving in three–okay, now two–days for my trip to see Fly!

Ginger: And so I went by myself and when I bought my ticket, I looked up and the guy behind me was Harrison! Harry! From Starbucks. He was seeing it by himself, too, so we sat together and then we were hungry and had dinner and then we kept talking and now we realized we both need to be at work in…less than sleepable hours…and so we’re looking for coffee. But we can’t get Starbucks. You understand.

Ruby: …

Ginger: Did you fall back asleep?

Ruby: No…I’m just a little stunned…

Ginger: It was purely coincidence, but we’re having a great time so far.

Ruby: Wasn’t the movie twelve hours ago?

Ginger: So?

Ruby: So…what have you been doing for twelve hours?

Ginger: Haven’t you been LISTENING? We had dinner, then we got to talking and now we need coffee! But not Starbucks.

Ruby: Ginger, be honest with me: did this turn into a date?

Ginger: No.

Ruby: Why not?

Ginger: What?

Ruby: Why not? You just admitted you spent twelve hours talking to a guy and you’re willing to spend more time with him!

Ginger: Because he’s 95.

Ruby: …seriously?

Ginger: Yes! Isn’t that amazing? He remembers seeing Cary Grant! In PERSON!

Ruby: I’m going back to sleep.

Ginger: You still have to give me the name of that coffee place!

Ruby: BP.

Ginger: Bea’s Pea?

Ruby: No. The BP. The gas station.

Ginger: Oh, YEAH…thanks!

Ruby: Ginger?

Ginger: Yeah?

Ruby: Next time, find someone your own age.

Ginger: They’re no FUN!!!!

Ruby: I’m hanging up now…

Leave a Reply

