Awarding…Some Sort of Behavior

Ruby: Ginger…what’s this?

Ginger: What’s what?

Ruby: This. What is this?

Ginger: Oh…that. Yeah, I had to write up a thing for work.

Ruby: A thing?

Ginger: Yeah, I had to write up a short bio about myself.

Ruby: For…work?

Ginger: Yes.

Ruby: Why?

Ginger: I dunno, I won some award or something.

Ruby: You won an award?

Ginger: Yeah.

Ruby: For…work?

Ginger: Yes. I, honestly, don’t know.

Ruby: Okay, just, tell me you didn’t submit this.

Ginger: Why? What’s wrong with it?

Ruby: Ahem. Ginger Blaze joined the company six years before the Mayan Zombie Apocalypse of 2012. She fought on the side of the zombies until she realized they were not her co-workers after all and was instrumental in destroying the alien mothership that was in the process of mind-wiping a significant portion of the Midwest. She studied theatre arts, English literature and deep-sea basket weaving at university.

Ginger: You think should change from the British form and just say “college” at the end?

Ruby: I think…you didn’t really submit that to work, did you?

Ginger: Why not?

Ruby: Was the award for creative writing somehow?

Ginger: No. I don’t…think so…

Ruby: What was the award for?

Ginger: I, honestly, don’t know. My manager told me I needed to submit a short bio for the thing that would get published to show everyone who I am and there’s some sort of an award.

Ruby: You got an award for something at work…and you don’t know what it was?

Ginger: Am I supposed to? I thought it was a surprise or something.

Ruby: Offices don’t typically hand out “surprise awards.” In my experience.

Ginger: Oh. Well, I guess I should ask my manager what the award is for…

Ruby: Does this mean you haven’t received the award yet?

Ginger: Well, the thing hasn’t been published in the company newsletter yet.

Ruby: So there’s still time to fix it?

Ginger: Seriously, what’s wrong with it?

Ruby: Ginger…there was no Mayan Zombie Apocalypse…

Ginger: The aliens got to you, too!!! I am so sorry it took me so long to change over to the side of the living!

Ruby: There’s no winning with you, is there?

Ginger: Not unless you’re on my side.

Ruby: How did Elle take the news?

Ginger: The aliens wiped her mind really well.

Ruby: I feel like winning. Let’s go jog Elle’s memory of what happened when that Mayan Zombie attacked you with a chainsaw.

Ginger: The thing about chainsaws is that they so easily turn on the Mayan Zombies who try to wield them…

Leave a Reply

