A Good Assistant Is Hard To Keep

Ruby: Ginger?

Ginger: Yes, Ruby?

Ruby: You’re scaring me.

Ginger: What am I doing?

Ruby: You’re…staring…in a threatening manner.

Ginger: I’m not staring at you.

Ruby: No, but passersby are avoiding their eyes as they pass by. Care to share the source of this feeling?

Ginger: London.

Ruby: The city or the character from The Suite Life of Zach & Cody?

Ginger: You know, having a DVR has really altered your life.

Ruby: We’re focusing on you now.

Ginger: And yet, I want to come back to you…

Ruby: London?

Ginger: Oh yeah. London.

Ruby: So…? The entire city is putting you into a sour mood from the other side of the Atlantic Ocean?

Ginger: No. The fact that I can’t go there is putting me into a sour mood.

Ruby: Were you banned from another country? Ginger, we’ve talked about this…

Ginger: No, I’m not banned, I just can’t go there.

Ruby: Passport problems?

Ginger: No.

Ruby: Flight costs too much?

Ginger: I can afford one way easily, it’s that return trip that keeps tripping me up.

Ruby: Okay…

Ginger: And I asked my manager if I could work in the London office for a few days at the end of my vacation, would the company pay for my return trip. And do you know what he said?

Ruby: “We have a London office?”

Ginger: No. He said he couldn’t let me do that because he’s pretty sure they wouldn’t let me leave.

Ruby: …what?

Ginger: Yeah. Apparently, he doesn’t want to let the London office know I exist, because they’ll just try to keep me.

Ruby: Would you stay there permanently if the offer arose?

Ginger: No. Don’t be ridiculous. Do you know how long the flight is from London to Sydney? It’s a full day on an airplane!

Ruby: Did you tell him you wouldn’t stay if they tried to keep you?

Ginger: No, I told him they wouldn’t want to keep me because I’m too persnickety about how I like things done.

Ruby: You are a bit OCD…

Ginger: He seemed to think it wasn’t going to be that big a deterrent.

Ruby: Well, you could always look on the bright side…

Ginger: Buying a one-way ticket would almost guarantee a job in the London office until I can afford a one-way ticket back here?

Ruby: Other bright side.

Ginger: The London office has need of persnickety people?

Ruby: Other bright side.

Ginger: Your neighbors think your Halloween decorations are up, due to the amount of people scurrying past in fear?

Ruby: Okay, I’m going to have to tell you the Other Bright Side, aren’t I?

Ginger: What in the entire history of our relationship led you to think I could find it on my own?

Ruby: Your boss thinks you’re too important to lose.

Ginger: Oh.

Ruby: See? Makes you feel proud of the work you do, doesn’t it?

Ginger: Not really.

Ruby: Why not?

Ginger: Because I want to go to London!

Ruby: I know…

Leave a Reply

