Entertain Thyself

Ginger: Can you believe the people I work with don’t know the term “undead”?

Ruby: Mm.

Ginger: I mean, technically, it’s not a term we tend to use often in the office.

Ruby: Yeah.

Ginger: Although, I don’t know…maybe we should.

Ruby: Yeah?

Ginger: Well, yeah. When there’s new medical technological advances – like new pills or nanotechnologies or serums or anti-viral-shots to take on superbugs or natural aging – we should be on the alert for possible side effects including ‘sudden death followed by rising and cravings for brains, human or otherwise.’

Ruby: Right.

Ginger: It could happen. I mean, nanotechnology is becoming so advanced that we are only just becoming aware of the dangers. Did you know that nanos can slip under your skin and possibly affect your liver or kidneys?

Ruby: Nope.

Ginger: It’s true. I don’t trust the cosmetics that employ the use of nano-whatevers yet. Not until we can figure out if they’ll cause zombie-ism or deformed grandchildren or gill development or something.

Ruby: Mm.

Ginger: Although, I wouldn’t mind the gills. Then I could breathe underwater. I could be like a mermaid! Did you ever want to be a mermaid?

Ruby: Sure.

Ginger: I wonder if I could be a zombie mermaid… Maybe those nanos could start that side effect. And all because someone wanted to look younger longer. Nanos getting under your skin, getting into your bloodstream, twisting your genes around…and suddenly, you’re a zombie mermaid with orange skin. Just like that. Blamo!

Ruby: Blamo. (pause) Blamo? Wait, what are we talking about?

Ginger: How’s your Spore dude coming along?

Ruby: I just made friends with another pack. What is ‘Blamo?’

Ginger: I have to admit, Rubes – since you started playing Spore, our conversations are a lot more one-sided. But you agree with me more. So I’m torn.

Ruby: Torn on what?

Ginger: Whether or not I should be insulted.

Ruby: What is ‘Blamo?’

Ginger: A nonsense word.

Ruby: Regarding…?

Ginger: Zombie mermaids with orange skin due to nanotechnology in our cosmetics. Make sure you save – I nearly lost a guy last night when I went to get some tea.

Ruby: Backtrack a second for me… How did you get to zombie mermaids with orange skin?

Ginger: People in my office don’t know the term ‘undead.’

Ruby: Why were you discussing the undead with your co-workers?

Ginger: We were talking about St. Nicholas’ Day.

Ruby: And the undead came up…how?

Ginger: Does it really matter? You want to get back to the game, don’t you?

Ruby: Um…yeah…

Ginger: Go ahead. I can entertain myself.

Ruby: Okay…

Ginger: Ruby?

Ruby: Mm?

Ginger: Do you ever wonder what would happen if Captain Jack Sparrow met the Dread Pirate Roberts?

Ruby: No.

Ginger: I think it would be so funny. It would be like that episode of Ally McBeal that crossed over with The Practice! Weirdly entertaining. Although, some people would say you got that every day with Boston Legal, but what did they expect when they put Captain Kirk in a law office with Murphy Brown?

Ruby: Yeah…

Ginger: And with Daniel Jackson from Stargate. I liked that movie and the TV series was fun…I think mostly cause they had MacGuyver on there… Do you remember MacGuyver?

Ruby: Sure.

Ginger: I always wanted to know if we locked him in a room, with only a rubber band, some chewing gum and a stick of dynamite would he get out okay or would he be lost, not knowing how to use something as complex as TNT?

Ruby: Mm. Ginger?

Ginger: Yes?

Ruby: This is how you entertain yourself, isn’t it?

Ginger: Would lying work on you?

Ruby: Not yet.

Ginger: Kay. Then, yes. This is how I entertain myself.

Ruby: Okay. Knock yourself out.

Ginger: Goodie. As I was not saying, I’ve always been fascinated by HALO jumping. Do you think you have to wear an oxygen mask all the time to get used to it or is there a special breathing technique they teach you? I want to wear the outfit just once…maybe for like, I dunno, Halloween or something…I don’t think I could actually do the jump, though. Could you? That’s scary to even think about. I think I might black out or something…

Leave a Reply

