Literary Licensing

(a strange tap-tapping upon the chamber door)

Ruby: Who is it?

Ginger: Tis some visitor. Only this and nothing more.

Ruby: Nothing more?

Ginger: Okay, tis some visitor with something more.

Ruby: Something more?

Ginger: Nevermore.

Ruby: What?

Ginger: Nevermore will I read Poe on my way here. Have some coffee.

Ruby: That’s the something more, right?

Ginger: What else would it be? Take your coffee please. I think it’s leaking.

Ruby: Thanks – I’ll pour it into a mug. So, how was your trip to the Big Apple?

Ginger: I didn’t meet anyone famous.

Ruby: Were you supposed to?

Ginger: Well, last time I was there, I walked right past Jason Schwartzman and didn’t know until it was too late. He was gone by then.

Ruby: So just because it happened once, it was supposed to happen again?

Ginger: Well, I didn’t care if it was Jason Schwartzman again or someone else. It didn’t happen.

Ruby: Did you leave the hotel room?

Ginger: Not really.

Ruby: Did you go out for lunch or dinner?

Ginger: Not much.

Ruby: And you were there for business, not tourism, right?

Ginger: Yeah.

Ruby: So…how were you supposed to meet famous people if you did nothing but sit behind a computer all day and then go back to the hotel at night?

Ginger: Are you suggesting that famous people were not staying in my hotel?

Ruby: Were they?

Ginger: Not that I am aware. I did look very closely at everyone in the hotel lobby, hallways, elevator and restaurant each time I left the hotel room.

Ruby: So…they were supposed to come to you?

Ginger: Doesn’t everyone eventually come to me?

Ruby: Of course. What was I thinking?

Ginger: Honestly, Ruby, I just don’t know about you sometimes.

Ruby: My fiancé says a very similar thing…

Ginger: I’ll bet when he says it, it sounds more like “I love you” or “Darling fiancée of mine, how may I show my affection for you on this day so that you are always reminded of the great value of our love?”

Ruby: That last doesn’t even sound like Fly…

Ginger: I may have been reading romance novels a lot on this trip.

Ruby: Really?

Ginger: There was a lot of waiting time at the airport and the flight felt very long for only two hours.

Ruby: With reading like that, I’ll bet it would. How much did it cost? $1.50?

Ginger: Bargain basement buy – ten cents.

Ruby: Nice.

Ginger: Wanna borrow it?

Ruby: By ‘borrow’ do you mean you’re going to leave it here whether I want it or not and deny you ever laid hands upon it when I try to give it back?

Ginger: Um…is the law on my side if I say ‘yes’?

Ruby: No.

Ginger: Then…I refuse to answer on the grounds that you’re already in possession of the book; it’s sitting on your bookshelf and has been since you took the leaky coffee into the kitchen and I shoved it there at the first opportunity.

Ruby: Which bookshelf?

Ginger: I believe an evil laugh is required here…

Ruby: I’ll find it!

Ginger: Sure you will, Ruby. Sure you will. Mwah. Hah. Ha. I’ll see you next time, Ruby…Toodles!

Ruby: No, come back here! You can’t leave me with bad writing! I’ll feel the need to read it!!! There are four bookshelves within arm’s reach of the front door!!! WHICH SHELF?!

Leave a Reply

