Shoes Are Easier To Find…

Ginger: You know, Ruby, they say that to really know someone, you have to walk a mile in their shoes.

Ruby: Give me back my shoes.

Ginger: I haven’t finished the mile yet.

Ruby: Are you planning on doing laps around my living room until it’s a full mile?

Ginger: Not now. Not since you made it sound weird by saying it out loud.

Ruby: Yeah…seriously, give me back my shoes.

Ginger: Your shoes are too cool for me, is that what you’re saying?

Ruby: No, I’m saying give me back my shoes – why did you put them on in the first place?

Ginger: You were on the phone. I was bored. The TV remote was complicated. Your shoes are not complicated.

Ruby: I thought you brought a book of Sudoku to keep yourself entertained…

Ginger: It got too…judgmental.

Ruby: Sudoku was judging you?

Ginger: Why can’t there be two sixes in one column? They’re shy numbers. They like being in groups.

Ruby: Sixes are shy?

Ginger: Yes. Except around fives. Then they get a little bossy.

Ruby: Of course. How did I not know this?

Ginger: I don’t know…it’s like you don’t think outside the box.

Ruby: There are scary things outside of the box, Ginger. And you make most of them up.

Ginger: As an incentive to get outside of the box only, I assure you!

Ruby: This from the woman who spends her weekends hiding in her apartment.

Ginger: Thoughts I can handle. People are annoying.

Ruby: Are you going to take off my shoes yet?

Ginger: The mile isn’t done yet, Ruby. I still don’t know you…

Ruby: There are other ways to get to know me. Conversation…

Ginger: …volcanoes…

Ruby: Volcanoes?!

Ginger: Firefly, Ruby. How could you forget? You need to wear my shoes…it’s like you don’t know me at all.

Ruby: Y’know what? That’s a great idea. Where are your shoes?

Ginger: I put them in the bathroom when I came in.

Ruby: …why?

Ginger: There were puddles. I couldn’t resist.

Ruby: You jumped in puddles on your way here?

Ginger: They were really persuasive puddles.

Ruby: It’s been raining for three days straight – those puddles had to be closer to lakes than puddles!

Ginger: Persuasive lakes, then?

Ruby: So now your shoes are soaked and drying out in my bathroom?

Ginger: Pretty much. Your bathtub wasn’t being used.

Ruby: At least it’s not the sink.

Ginger: I learned from last time.

Ruby: I can’t tell you how proud I am.

Ginger: Because that would imply that you’re proud of me?

Ruby: A little…yeah…

Ginger: See? This ‘walk a mile in someone else’s shoes’ thing really does work!

Ruby: Give me back my shoes.

Leave a Reply

