The First Step

Ruby: Ginger?

Ginger: Yes? What? Why are you here?

Ruby: Ginger…what are you doing?

Ginger: Why?

Ruby: You didn’t answer the question. What are you doing?

Ginger: Why?

Ruby: I heard screaming.

Ginger: That was the TV.

Ruby: And you laughing.

Ginger: It was funny.

Ruby: What were you watching? SLiTHER? Again?

Ginger: No.

Ruby: Ginger…I know your brothers took you to the store. I know they helped you find the DVD. Just admit it.

Ginger: I bought season one.

Ruby: Season one of…?

Ginger: If you already know, why do I have to say it out loud?

Ruby: Because you’ll never learn if I don’t make you admit it out loud.

Ginger: I turned it off. I can turn it off any time I want to.

Ruby: Ginger…you know that admitting a problem is the first step.

Ginger: First step to what? Recovery? How do you recover from a relaxing episode of drama, angst and horror? Why should I have to recover from relaxation?

Ruby: …okay, wait, you’re relaxing while watching angsty-drama-ridden horror?

Ginger: …maybe…

Ruby: Don’t you normally relax to the sounds of swords on shields, battle cries and strength of character?

Ginger: Tastes can vary from stressful moment to stressful moment.

Ruby: Oh, Ginger…

Ginger: While you’re here, we can play Red Steel 2.

Ruby: It’s a one-player game.

Ginger: I’m aware of this.

Ruby: So, you really meant you can play Red Steel 2, while I play on Webkinz?

Ginger: Unless you want to play around on some other website.

Ruby: Okay. I mean! Ginger! You have to admit you watch that show!

Ginger: Okay! I admit it! I watch TV! Lots of TV! Some of it is good, some of it is mediocre and some of it is pretty crap! But I watch it! And I enjoy watching it all! I like the DVD’s where I get to watch Chuck struggle to tell Sarah how he feels about her! And I like watching Leonard and Penny struggle in their relationship with one another! And I like watching Beckett struggle to let her guard down around Castle!

Ruby: Um, Ginger…

Ginger: I enjoy watching DiNozzo and Ziva dance around their feelings for one another and I laugh at Jess and Nick and Schmidt and Winston try to figure out how to be roommates and friends and more!

Ruby: Ginger…

Ginger: And I like watching the DVD’s of Eliot and Parker and Hardison and Nate and Sophie committing crimes because sometimes bad guys are the only good guys you get! And I enjoy every moment I spend with Jeff Winger and Annie and Abed and Troy and — everyone in that show!

Ruby: Ginger, that’s not–

Ginger: And I cannot lie and say I don’t enjoy arguing religion and mythological history with Sam and with Dean!

Ruby: That’s the one.

Ginger: Have you SEEN the car?

Ruby: Yes. You’ve shown me.

Ginger: And so I don’t want to give them up! I don’t want to give ANY of them up!

Ruby: We know, Ginger…we all know…

Ginger: Don’t make me give them up, Ruby, please? I’ll let you play Red Steel 2…

Ruby: Ginger, I don’t want…okay.

Ginger: Okay?

Ruby: Well. Yeah. I wasn’t going to make you give up any of them. How you waste your time is your business. But if I get to try to swing the katana around, I’ll pretend that was my plan all along.

Ginger: Diabolical…genius!!!

Ruby: Yeah…you should try it sometime.

Ginger: Well, I don’t know if I could – Okay. Take the Wiimote and I’ll get it up and running.

Ruby: …somehow I feel like one of us was played, but I’m not sure who exactly…

Ginger: I know. Isn’t it fun?

Leave a Reply

