If You Give A Ginger A Lollipop…

Ginger: Trickier treats!

Ruby: What?

Ginger: I can’t get the wrapper off this lollipop.

Ruby: Ah.

Ginger: What are you doing?

Ruby: I’m trying to figure out how to use all my vacation days.

Ginger: How many do you have left?

Ruby: 17.

Ginger: That’s a really long Christmas break…

Ruby: Yeah, except that I can’t be away from work at the end of the year for 17 days.

Ginger: Why not? I’d do it.

Ruby: No one reports to you.

Ginger: True. But people rely on me for a lot.

Ruby: Teaching newbies how to harangue people for answers?

Ginger: If I don’t, someone else will tell them they have to be nice.

Ruby: Of course.

Ginger: So, have you plotted out which days you will take off?

Ruby: Yes, but I still have about ten days left over.

Ginger: Oh. Hey, I have a great idea!

Ruby: Take a lot of Fridays off until the end of the year?

Ginger: OR you could give your days off to me!

Ruby: We don’t work for the same company.

Ginger: So?

Ruby: Won’t the payroll departments notice if you take off a day or two when you don’t have any days off left?

Ginger: I’m sure that if you just write a note, explaining that I have your leftover days off, they’ll totally go along with it.

Ruby: Why do you think that would work? I’m curious.

Ginger: Because deep down, everyone wants it to work like that.

Ruby: But it doesn’t work like that.

Ginger: But if enough people get together and do it, then who will be left to stop us?

Ruby: Such a brilliant statement from someone who has difficulty unwrapping a lollipop.

Ginger: Well, they make it so hard to unwrap! How do they expect children to consume these when the plastic is near-impenetrable!

Ruby: I’ll tell you what. I’ll write the note, you take it to your office manager and see what he says.

Ginger: And you’ll open the lollipop for me?

Ruby: Ginger…haven’t you ever heard “if you give a man a fish, he eats for a day, but” — give it here.

Ginger: You’re the nicest Ruby ever.

Ruby: I just don’t want you capable of opening lollipops whenever you want to have a sugar high in my freshly cleaned home.

Ginger: Fair enough.

Leave a Reply

