Try Again?

Ruby: Ginger? Are you home?

Ginger: I’m in the back!

Ruby: What…are you doing?

Ginger: What does it look like I’m doing?

Ruby: It looks like you’re trying to fit a collar and leash on a chicken.

Ginger: Not just any chicken, Ruby. Your chicken. Your birthday chicken. Lightbulb.

Ruby: Yeah, I wanted to talk to you about that…

Ginger: You’re going to take him home with you? Ruby, that’s wonderful! D’you hear that, Lightbulb? Ruby came around to see it our way!

Ruby: Not even close.

Ginger: Try again?

Ruby: I wanted to talk to you about…timing.

Ginger: What of it?

Ruby: You know my birthday isn’t until this coming weekend, right?

Ginger: …it is?

Ruby: Yes.

Ginger: Are you sure?

Ruby: Pretty sure.

Ginger: I’ll need to see your license to be sure.

Ruby: Try again.

Ginger: RUBY!

Ruby: I’m not handing you my license – you’ve been trying to wrangle a chicken into a collar and leash. You’re clearly not stable.

Ginger: Oddly, that’s not what I was shouting about…

Ruby: Okay, then, what?

Ginger: I’ve done it!

Ruby: I’m almost too scared to ask…

Ginger: I’ve learned how to time travel!

Ruby: Is this one of those “We Live In The Future Because The Time When I Started This Conversation Is Now In The Past” revelations?

Ginger: No, this is for real!

Ruby: Okay. Fine.

Ginger: I’m clearly from the future!

Ruby: Try again?

Ginger: I am the Ginger from One Week In the FUTURE!

Ruby: …yeah, try again?

Ginger: Not only did I give you your birthday chicken one week in advance, but I also realized that Captain America: The Winter Soldier does not come out today! It hits theatres NEXT Friday!

Ruby: This is true. You’ve been chanting “April 4” every time we see a commercial for it… But that doesn’t make you a time traveler.

Ginger: And May’s wedding isn’t next week at all! It’s the week after next week!

Ruby: Also true. You’ve had the invitation on your fridge for a while now. Still does not make you a time traveler.

Ginger: And my brother comes home from 1986 that same week!

Ruby: Your brother is also not a time traveler. You just refuse to admit he’s in a different country, not a different decade.

Ginger: There’s only one logical explanation!

Ruby: You can’t read a calendar.

Ginger: I’m from THE FUTURE!

Ruby: You can’t read a calendar.

Ginger: I’m clearly from the future.

Ruby: You can’t read a calendar.

Ginger: I’m from the future!!!

Ruby: You can’t read a – your chicken is trying to eat your nail polish.

Ginger: He has a short attention span.

Ruby: Ah.

Ginger: What were we talking about?

Ruby: ……………golf.

Ginger: Oh, yeah. I think my best game was with you and Fly in the blacklight course.

Ruby: Doesn’t surprise me. You kept cheating.

Ginger: And you never cheat?

Ruby: Never.

Leave a Reply

