Thank You, Mysterious Recommending-Man.

Ruby: Hullo?

Ginger: Do you remember which one of my brothers told me to watch Orphan Black?

Ruby: Is that movie about the creepy little Russian girl?

Ginger: No, I think that’s just called Orphan. And it’s a movie. This is a TV show.

Ruby: Is it that show on NetFlix about the girl in prison?

Ginger: No, that’s Orange Is The New Black. This is science fiction.

Ruby: Is it that show about the girl who’s part faerie?

Ginger: No, that’s called Lost Girl and it’s on SyFy. This is on BBC America.

Ruby: Is it that show with Idris Elba?

Ginger: No, that’s Luther. This is…how are you getting all of these answers?

Ruby: I listen when you talk.

Ginger: Oh. Then you should know exactly which of my brothers suggested I watch this.

Ruby: I do know.

Ginger: Are you going to remind me?

Ruby: This is way too much fun.

Ginger: How could you possibly get Luther confused with Orphan Black? Orphan Black is about human clones!

Ruby: Is it that show with the poster of double helix and people getting digitized into the helix?

Ginger: No, that’s Helix. This is one actress playing all these different clones and –

Ruby: Is it that show with Jennifer Garner?

Ginger: No, that was Alias. This…is how conversations usually go when you’re trying to get me to help you with something. Isn’t it?

Ruby: Yes.

Ginger: Are you going to tell me which of my brothers suggested I watch this show?

Ruby: Which show?

Ginger: Orphan Black.

Ruby: Is that the show about the—

Ginger: No. That’s Doctor Who.

Ruby: Oh… Is it that show about the—

Ginger: No. That’s Lost.

Ruby: That’s not what I was going to ask.

Ginger: Wasn’t it?

Ruby: Fine.

Ginger: Which of my brothers told me to watch it?

Ruby: Why?

Ginger: I need to thank him. And smother him with a giant pillow for getting me this obsessed with yet another show.

Ruby: Because you know you need to do other things with your time?

Ginger: That and I’m scared that now I like it, someone out there will find out and make it get cancelled. On a cliffhanger. When the main character is dying.

Ruby: It wasn’t any of your brothers who told you to watch it.

Ginger: It wasn’t?

Ruby: No. It was a random guy on the bus who was reading a Terry Pratchett novel and the two of you got into a heated discussion over which Firefly character would survive longest in a Riddick movie.

Ginger: Obviously, it would be River! I don’t know why that guy thought Jubal Early would last longer! It’s like he never saw Serenity!

Ruby: You remember that, but not the fact he recommended Orphan Black to you?

Ginger: It made a more lasting impression. Plus that argument got us both kicked off the bus. Apparently, we were scaring the Harry Potter fans.

Ruby: They were children, after all. They’d never even heard the term “scruffy-looking nerf herder.”

Ginger: Children today are so uncultured.

Ruby: Yeah. That was the problem.

Leave a Reply

