Handle This Truth…

Ruby: Ginger? Are you home?

Ginger: Yeah, I’m in the kitchen.

Ruby: That’s not at all a frightening statement coming from you.

Ginger: I’m cleaning the coffeemaker.

Ruby: Much better. What are you listening to?

Ginger: Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata.

Ruby: …really?

Ginger: I can like the classical music.

Ruby: …really?

Ginger: It’s not impossible.

Ruby: Ginger, I’m not saying it’s impossible. I’m just saying…really?

Ginger: Why is this so hard for you to understand?

Ruby: Were you watching cartoons lately? Like, maybe Bugs Bunny?

Ginger: I find this piece moving.

Ruby: …really?

Ginger: Would it make you feel better if I said I went looking for a new sponge and found an old box of CD’s that my mom had given me a while back and chose this one at random?

Ruby: Much better.

Ginger: Then let’s say that’s what happened.

Ruby: Is that what happened?

Ginger: …let’s say that’s what happened.

Ruby: But is that what happened?

Ginger: You said it would make you feel better if I said that’s what happened.

Ruby: But now I realize the truth would be better.

Ginger: The truth is I like Beethoven and that I find this piece moving.

Ruby: Well, I never thought I’d say this, but Jack Nicholson was right. I couldn’t handle the truth.

Ginger: Can you handle getting the coffee grounds out of the freezer? I’ll make a fresh pot.

Ruby: So, how long have you been a fan of classical music?

Ginger: A while, I guess…

Ruby: A short while? A long while? A medium while?

Ginger: I don’t know. Can you say how long you’ve liked any of your favorite pieces of music?

Ruby: Yes.

Ginger: Oh.

Ruby: How long have you listened to the Beatles?

Ginger: I grew up listening to my parents’ records…

Ruby: How long have you loved Cake?

Ginger: Ever since that fateful day in 1997 when the boy I liked played the CD for me. It was Fashion Nugget. I still love that one most.

Ruby: How long have you listened to Beethoven?

Ginger: Since I found the CD in the box with sponges. I honestly don’t know how it got there and I just needed to listen to something.

Ruby: I feel better. I knew I could handle the truth!

Ginger: Yes. We’re proud. Me. Jack Nicholson. And Beethoven.

Ruby: You know what?

Ginger: What?

Ruby: You’re annoying when you’re smug.

Leave a Reply

