Land Doesn’t Come With This Title.

Ruby: Ginger, are you home?

Ginger: Yup. What’s up?

Ruby: I brought champagne.

Ginger: How did you know?

Ruby: Know? Know what?

Ginger: I got an award at work.

Ruby: I got a new title at work.

Ginger: You did? Really? That’s awesome! Was there a ceremony and a sword?

Ruby: What? No…why would there be a ceremony? Or a sword?

Ginger: You got a title. I’m assuming you were named Baroness of All Computers.

Ruby: I was not.

Ginger: Did you at least get the deed to a castle?

Ruby: I was not named Baroness of All Computers. I did not receive a castle.

Ginger: But you were given a title.

Ruby: Yes, Ginger, I was named Baroness of Strategic Planning. I received a ship and now I’m required to periodically attend formal events in a silver gown and wear the sash with my title printed on it in binary.

Ginger: Should I now curtsy every time I address you?

Ruby: Only when I enter the room.

Ginger: Okay.

Ruby: So why did you win an award?

Ginger: I don’t know. It’s just going to end up on the shelf with the others.

Ruby: Others?

Ginger: I win awards for weird things. But I’ve never been awarded with a barony.

Ruby: It’s an honor you should really strive for. I can’t be seen in the company of a non-titled person without some blowback from my peers.

Ginger: Well, obviously. I mean, I wouldn’t expect you to jeopardize your place in society just to be seen with a lowly, award-winning, well-educated woman of good standing.

Ruby: Clearly. After all, you have no title.

Ginger: Well, I do, it’s just not something I flaunt.

Ruby: Office Lackey isn’t a title, Ginger.

Ginger: Then why is it on my business cards?

Ruby: Because you got bored and printed them yourself one afternoon at work.

Ginger: I fail to see your point, m’lady.

Ruby: I’m taking away your romance novels.

Ginger: I got most of them from your library, anyway.

Ruby: Point taken.

Leave a Reply

