Would You Believe It?

Ruby: Ginger, what are you doing?

Ginger: Would you believe it if I said I was sleepwalking?

Ruby: No.

Ginger: Why not?

Ruby: Because you don’t sleepwalk.

Ginger: Maybe I do and I never told you that I do.

Ruby: You don’t. What are you doing?

Ginger: Would you believe it if I said I got lost on my way home and decided to stay here until I remembered where I live?

Ruby: I might have if you hadn’t started off by asking me if I would believe it.

Ginger: You think that little of my memory?

Ruby: No, I think that little of your navigational skills.

Ginger: I have navigational skills.

Ruby: You got lost going to visit your sister on a regular basis. For five years.

Ginger: She lived in a very tricky neighborhood.

Ruby: It was a grid!

Ginger: It shifted within the time-space continuum on a regular basis. Everyone knows that.

Ruby: What are you doing?

Ginger: Would you believe it if I said I could smell the cookies you just baked?

Ruby: I baked cookies last week.

Ginger: The aroma took that long to waft my way.

Ruby: You’re not even eating cookies…

Ginger: Obviously. You baked them last week. I don’t expect them to still be here.

Ruby: Ginger, just tell me what are you doing?

Ginger: Would you believe it if I –

Ruby: No. Just tell me the truth. What are you doing?

Ginger: I wanted to get you and Fly a wedding gift unlike any other wedding gift.

Ruby: And that requires you to go through my DVD collection?

Ginger: Yes. I have to know what movies you own so I don’t get you something you already have.

Ruby: Most people look at the wedding registry.

Ginger: Do I look like most people?

Ruby: It’s just a suggestion.

Ginger: Yeah. How come you don’t have a copy of Footloose?

Ruby: Because…I don’t…?

Ginger: It’s weird. You don’t have a copy of Footloose, Dirty Dancing, Flashdance or – oh, no, wait, you have a copy of The Cutting Edge. I was worried.

Ruby: Worried I didn’t copy your entire DVD collection?

Ginger: No. I was worried that you were avoiding acknowledging you know those movies by heart.

Ruby: I don’t.

Ginger: Which is why you’ll get them as your wedding present.

Ruby: I don’t want them as my wedding present.

Ginger: Too bad it’s not up to you what people buy you for your wedding.

Ruby: That’s why there’s a wedding registry.

Ginger: That’s like telling people what to buy you.

Ruby: It’s so that we don’t get people buying us dance movie classics from the 80’s to overstock our DVD collection.

Ginger: Your life is so boring sometimes.

Ruby: Well, then, it’s a good thing I have you in my life to make that an infrequent occurrence.

Ginger: Would you believe it if I said that was my plan all along?

Ruby: Yes. Yes, I would.

Leave a Reply

