It Is Mine Now.

Ruby: Ginger? Ginger?

Elle: I think she’s over there by the Jaguar booth.

Ruby: Great.

Elle: What is she doing?

Ruby: Nothing intelligent. I don’t know why she’s acting like this…

Elle: It might be my fault.

Ruby: What could you possibly have done?

Elle: She was acting…annoyed…er…than usual, so I sort of gave her candy.

Ruby: Ginger eats candy. She doesn’t get like this over candy.

Elle: Really?

Ruby: Really. It’s probably a combination of excitement over the Auto Show, frustration from work and a minor case of dehydration.

Elle: So it had nothing to do with the Lik-a-Stix I gave her?

Ruby: ….you…gave…her…what?!

Elle: Uh-oh.

Ruby: Don’t you realize that’s just sugar?!

Elle: Giving her a piece of chocolate sometimes puts her in a better mood, but I didn’t have any chocolate, just…

Ruby: Did she eat the sugar stick that comes with it?

Elle: …I, um, I think so?

Ruby: …all hope is lost…

Ginger: WELL, HI RUBY!!!

Ruby: Ginger – calm down.

Ginger: OKAY!! DID YOU SEE THE CARS?! THAT ONE IS BLUE!! AND…it’s mine.

Elle: I’m sorry, I wasn’t thinking, it was in my purse and…

Ruby: Ginger, I need you to drink this water, okay?

Ginger: Do you know how I know that one is mine??

Elle: Does she shop when she’s had too much sugar?

Ruby: What? No. She just loses sight of how reality works. Ginger, no, no – just drink the water. Don’t play with it.

Elle: Isn’t that what happens every day?

Ruby: That’s to cope. If you give her too much sugar, she thinks she controls reality. I’ve only seen this happen once before…we barely got out alive.

Elle: WHAT?!

Ginger: I CAN MAKE THAT MAN TURN AROUND WITH MY MIND! WATCH THIS!!

Ruby: Well, she claims we barely got out alive. But that’s because she saw all the connections reality makes and she stood paralyzed for seventeen minutes, organizing each outcome until we could make it out alive. Which, obviously, we did.

Elle: Ginger, no, honey – making him turn around with your mind only means you get to think. Throwing the water bottle at him involves more than your mind.

Ruby: I have an idea – who wants coffee?

Elle: You want to make her more hyper?

Ruby: There comes a point in hyperactivity where you push so far into the stratosphere of your hyper that you come out the other side – into a happy little place I like to call Sleepyland.

Elle: Is that like when the squirrel in Over The Hedge got to drink an energy drink and the world slowed down?

Ruby: Yes.

Ginger: DODGE! LET’S GO SEE THE CHALLENGER!!!

Ruby: Ginger – don’t run! Ginger!

Elle: I promise to never give her Lik-a-Stix again.

Ruby: On behalf of the tri-state area, Thank You.

Elle: …why is she licking that car?

Ruby: Wait for it.

Ginger: I HAVE LICKED IT! IT IS MINE NOW!

Elle: …ew.

Ruby: Agreed.

Leave a Reply

