Farewell, Skighno…

Ruby: Ginger? Are you home?

Ginger: Yup, I’m in the back.

Ruby: Okay. Here. I made you brownies.

Ginger: Thanks! They’re still warm…they smell so good!

Ruby: I also found a copy of that one Chris Evans and Jason Statham movie you hadn’t seen yet.

Ginger: Seriously?

Ruby: Yeah – here you go.

Ginger: My birthday isn’t for a few months, Ruby…

Ruby: I also brought fixings to make that chicken-pesto-pizza you love. I thought we could have dinner and watch your new movie.

Ginger: What’s going on?

Ruby: Do you have a cookie sheet for the pizza dough?

Ginger: Am I dying?

Ruby: No, don’t be silly. I just thought that you’d like a day where things are all going your way.

Ginger: Seriously?

Ruby: No. I have something to tell you and I don’t think you’ll like it.

Ginger: Should I sit down?

Ruby: Probably.

Ginger: Okay. I’m ready.

Ruby: I sold my car. I sold the Skighno.

Ginger: What?

Ruby: I sold it. Fly and I don’t need it now and we’ll save money so we can eventually–

Ginger: No, I didn’t hear you.

Ruby: I sold the car.

Ginger: You what the car?

Ruby: Sold it.

Ginger: …it’s like you’ve stopped speaking English.

Ruby: Have a brownie.

Ginger: I understand that.

Ruby: I sold the car.

Ginger: Again, it’s like your words are jumbled. Are you having a stroke? Am I?

Ruby: Let’s try a different approach. Repeat my words. Ruby.

Ginger: Ruby.

Ruby: Sold.

Ginger: Sold.

Ruby: The.

Ginger: The.

Ruby: Car.

Ginger: …

Ruby: Ginger?

Ginger: Ginger?

Ruby: Stop repeating me now.

Ginger: Stop repeating – oh. Okay.

Ruby: There was a car which has now been sold.

Ginger: Okay.

Ruby: You understood that?

Ginger: She understands, she doesn’t comprehend.

Ruby: Okay, I got it. You know how there was that episode of Firefly where Mal remembers buying Serenity?

Ginger: Yes. It’s the best episode! I cry every single time…it’s so touching…

Ruby: Okay. So, remember how he bought it used?

Ginger: Yeah…although, I would say it was ‘previously loved’ and he didn’t so much buy it as it stole his heart and gave him a reason to live a new life again…

Ruby: Right. So, someone previously loved Serenity, right?

Ginger: Sure.

Ruby: They had to sell it to the man who then sold–uh, introduced Mal to it, right?

Ginger: Okay, yeah, I see where you’re going with this…

Ruby: You do?

Ginger: Yes. You want to buy a Firefly class transport ship. I’m sorry, Rubes, I’ve looked – they are not for sale yet. Not even used ones.

Ruby: She understands. She doesn’t comprehend.

Ginger: I could get you a miniature one…

Ruby: Do you have any problem with the people who sold Serenity to the man who then sold it to Mal?

Ginger: No. Of course not.

Ruby: Okay, so I’m sort of like those people. And my car is sort of like Serenity. And somewhere out there is someone who is sort of like Mal. Looking for his Serenity.

Ginger: I don’t think your metaphor really works.

Ruby: Why not?

Ginger: There is no way we could get a herd of cows into the Skighno.

Ruby: But you understand and comprehend what I’m trying to tell you?

Ginger: I think so…

Ruby: Repeat it back to me.

Ginger: You’re going to buy a red 1969 Pontiac GTO for $9,956 so that we can take our Road Trip to Forget in style, so you had to sell the Skighno because Fly said you had to choose between the Skighno and the Pontiac.

Ruby: Try again.

Ginger: You’re going to buy a red 1969 Pontiac GTO for $9,956 so that we can take our Road Trip to Forget in style, so you had to sell the Skighno because you said you had to choose between the Skighno and the Pontiac.

Ruby: That’s not even…

Ginger: You’re going to buy a red 1969 Pontiac GTO for $9,956 so that we can take our Road Trip to Forget in style, so you had to sell the Skighno because you said Fly had to choose between his car and the Pontiac, and he said you had to choose between the Skighno and the Pontiac and then you agreed to settle this with Rock-Paper-Scissors-Lizard-Spock, but you lost.

Ruby: What?

Ginger: You have a tell.

Ruby: You cannot have a tell in Rock-Paper-Scissors!

Ginger: And yet you lost and had to sell the Skighno so you can buy the 1969 Pontiac GTO.

Ruby: …yes.

Ginger: Really?

Ruby: Except for the part about buying the 1969 GTO. And losing to Fly in Rock-Paper-Scissors.

Ginger: …it’s like you’re not speaking English again.

Ruby: Okay. If I say I’m not buying the 1969 GTO yet, but it’s a future purchase – really, really distant future – will you understand my words then?

Ginger: Try it.

Ruby: I sold the Skighno so that in the far-off, really distant, definitely not in this year or next, I might consider making a purchase of a 1969 Pontiac GTO.

Ginger: A red one?

Ruby: If it will help.

Ginger: Okay. Let’s make that chicken-pesto-pizza!

Ruby: If I had known it would only take that, I would have saved myself so much energy…and a frantic search across the internet for that movie!

Ginger: Come on…how bad could the movie be? It has Chris Evans AND Jason Statham in it! And it has London right there in the title!

Ruby: …riiiiiight.

Ginger: So, when you buy the GTO, can I name it?

Ruby: You cannot call it “Ruby’s Revenge.”

Ginger: But you didn’t even give the name a chance! Let it sit with you, roll it around your mind…

Ruby: I cannot believe I’m arguing over the name of a car I’m not going to get–for several years.

Ginger: I’m texting Fly – he’ll agree that a red 1969 Pontiac GTO is just BEGGING to be called “Ruby’s Revenge!”

Leave a Reply

