Long Overdue Conversation…

Ginger: HAH!

Ruby: …excuse me?

Ginger: I’m sorry. I’ll start over.

Ruby: Okay then.

Ginger: Ha-HAH!

Ruby: You’re going to have to give me more than that.

Ginger: I apparently need to remind you of our conversation from February of 2012 which you promised we would pick up “in a year or so.”

Ruby: Really?

Ginger: Yes. And you forgot all about it. For three years. Nearly four.

Ruby: Mm.

Ginger: And don’t try saying I forgot about it – I didn’t. I’ve been waiting for you to bring it up. Which you haven’t.

Ruby: Okay.

Ginger: Well? Don’t you have anything to say for yourself?

Ruby: Did you ever notice that when you take a toy from a child who is surrounded by other toys and you promise to return that one specific toy to the child in an hour that the child successfully distracts herself with the other toys so well that the original toy need never be returned? And that sometimes, returning the toy can actually cause more problems because now that child has remembered the toy and the distress caused by the toy’s loss?

Ginger: Are you suggesting you weren’t bringing up the conversation because you knew I’d remember it and then would go through with my intent at that time?

Ruby: Did you get a Strong Bad tattoo in the past three and a half years?

Ginger: …no…

Ruby: Well, then?

Ginger: …you’re still not the boss of me.

Ruby: I’m so proud.

Leave a Reply

