A Laborious Shopping Trip

Ruby: You know, you don’t have to hold onto the list quite so tightly.

Ginger: But we have a List and we’re entering the Grocery Store. I’m proud of us.

Ruby: Yeah. Be proud without destroying the list.

Ginger: Okay.

Ruby: What’s the first thing on the list?

Ginger: A DVD title.

Ruby: We got that.

Ginger: Yes. But you asked what’s the FIRST thing on the list.

Ruby: You’re right. What’s the SECOND thing on the list?

Ginger: …coffee cake…

Ruby: I’m pretty sure that’s not on the list…

Ginger: …angel food cake…

Ruby: Again, not on the – oh, for goodness’ sake. Ginger, stop staring at the bakery section! We have dessert at home!

Ginger: But cookies…

Ruby: We have dessert at home.

Ginger: Fine. Pesto mix.

Ruby: Okay, that’s the baking aisle.

Ginger: Oooh…cookies…

Ruby: No, Ginger, we have dessert at home.

Ginger: Right.

Ruby: Although…those do look really good…

Ginger: No, Ruby. We have dessert at home.

Ruby: But…but…okay…

Ginger: Look! Pesto mix!

Ruby: Great. Next on the list?

Ginger: Do you ever notice how much fun we have in the grocery store on Labor Day weekend?

Ruby: Focus, Ginger.

Ginger: Right. Next is…cheese.

Ruby: Why did you pick up the toaster pastries?

Ginger: Because I just remembered I need them.

Ruby: Right.

Ginger: To the cheeses!

Ruby: Yeah…

Ginger: Ruby? Ruby – no, Ruby. We have dessert at home.

Ruby: But the cheesecake…

Ginger: Ruby!

Ruby: Fine.

Ginger: Look! Cheeeeeeeese.

Ruby: And pizza crust inna tube.

Ginger: So we’re good to go.

Ruby: Why did you pick up toilet paper?

Ginger: I just remembered I need it.

Ruby: Right.

Ginger: Off to checkout we go?

Ruby: I’m not singing the Wizard of Oz song.

Ginger: Party pooper.

Ruby: Yeah.

Ginger: Oh, yeah! If you spend more than $10, you get a stamp for your free cookware booklet!

Ruby: That’s true.

Ginger: I’m saving up for a sauté pan. With lid.

Ruby: You know there’s a time limit on it, right?

Ginger: You don’t know how many toaster pastries I buy.

Ruby: At this point, I don’t think I want to know…

Ginger: You’re gonna be so jealous of my sauté pan. With lid. When I get it.

Ruby: Uh-huh.

Ginger: So jealous.

Ruby: Yup.

Ginger: You’ll see.

Ruby: Okay.

Ginger: Do you notice anything weird about our groceries, now that they’re laid out on the conveyor belt?

Ruby: Mine looks like I’m making a pesto pizza and yours looks like you have impulse control?

Ginger: I don’t know what you’re talking about.

Ruby: Yeah. Why did you pick up the magazine?

Ginger: I need it.

Ruby: Yeah.

Ginger: So jealous.

Ruby: Uh-huh.

Ginger: Hey, Ruby?

Ruby: Yes, Ginger?

Ginger: What’s the difference between a sauté pan and a frying pan?

Ruby: Twenty five stamps.

Leave a Reply

