It’s Wednesday…

Ginger: Hey, Ruby?

Ruby: Yes, Ginger?

Ginger: It doesn’t feel like Wednesday.

Ruby: I know, Ginger.

Ginger: It really feels like Monday hit pause and waited for me to catch up.

Ruby: I know, Ginger.

Ginger: Do you think it had anything to do with the amount of sugar I consumed on Monday and Tuesday?

Ruby: Could be, Ginger.

Ginger: Do you think it had anything to do with the zombie dreams I had Friday night?

Ruby: Could be that, too, Ginger.

Ginger: I’m glad to hear I’m not alone in these thoughts, Ruby.

Ruby: I’m glad to hear you’re having sensible thoughts again, Ginger.

Ginger: Say, Ruby…

Ruby: Yes, Ginger?

Ginger: If I promise to stop having non-stop zombie movie marathons to the point where I can’t sleep and start believing people are zombies and that they’re all out to get me and so I must have as much sugar and caffeine as possible so that I can stay awake and therefore ahead of the zombie uprising, will you promise to let me out of the linen closet?

Ruby: That depends, Ginger.

Ginger: On what, exactly?

Ruby: Are you going to also stop quoting Zombieland rules to me?

Ginger: But, Ruby, you’ve got to enjoy the little things.

Ruby: Sounds to me like someone hasn’t finished her enforced nap.

Ginger: Sounds to me like someone’s bitter I ate all her Halloween candy.

Ruby: In one sitting. It was for the neighborhood kids, Ginger, not you.

Ginger: I’ll buy you another bag.

Ruby: Yes, next year, you will. By then I hope I can trust you to enter the grocery store and not do a celebratory dance when you find the Twinkies.

Ginger: Spongy yellow goodness…

Ruby: You don’t even LIKE Twinkies!

Ginger: Not the taste, mind you, the texture.

Ruby: Go back to sleep, Ginger.

Fly: What’s going on? Why are you talking to the linen closet?

Ruby: Nothing. Go back to sleep – I’ll wake you when you’re allowed out.

Ginger: This never would have happened if you had taken me to Vienna like I planned!

Fly: Is that…do you have Ginger in our linen closet?

Ruby: What? It’s big enough to hold all our sheets, towels, winter coats, and two boxes of books that don’t fit on the bookshelves…it’s roomy.

Ginger: Fly? Is that you? She’s got me trapped in here!

Fly: Does this have anything to do with the Venn Diagram of Reaver and Zombie characteristics scribbled in chocolate on the kitchen wall?

Ginger: NO!

Ruby: A little. How’d you guess?

Fly: And maybe something to do with the barricade of shoes, dvd’s and romance novels by the front door?

Ginger: NOT A THING!

Ruby: You’re catching on.

Fly: And the smallest connection to the trail of candy wrappers and instant coffee singlet wrappers throughout the house?

Ginger: Okay, that might be connected to this…

Ruby: She chewed the instant coffee.

Fly: Ah. Well, carry on. G’night, my love. Do you need another book to keep you entertained?

Ruby: No, this should be enough for now. She’ll crash again soon. Good night, honey.

Ginger: G’night, Fly…

Fly: Sleep it off, Ginger.

Ginger: …okay…

Leave a Reply

