You Can’t Stop The Signal Parties Can’t Be Stopped

Ginger: Trick-or-treat!

Ruby: That was months ago, Ginger.

Ginger: Like that matters to me.

Ruby: What are you even dressed as?

Ginger: Isn’t it obvious?

Ruby: No. Not really.

Ginger: You are a disappointment to me, Ruby. A real disappointment.

Ruby: Well, you’re not getting any treats until you explain yourself.

Ginger: Do you not see my teddy bear patch on my green mechanics’ coveralls? I’m obviously Kaylee.

Ruby: You know Halloween is limited to one day a year, right?

Ginger: With so many options, though, how could that possibly matter to me?

Ruby: Of course. What was I thinking?

Ginger: Honestly, Ruby, I rarely know what you’re thinking.

Ruby: Don’t worry, Ginger. The confusion is mutual.

Ginger: So? I explained my costume. Where is my treat?

Ruby: No go. Only good little children who dress for the actual day of Halloween and don’t try to overdo it for the remainder of the year get treats.

Ginger: Who made you the Great Pumpkin?

Ruby: I have contacts in high places.

Ginger: Well, I guess I knew it was a long shot…

Ruby: So, not that you need an excuse to dress as Kaylee, but why did you decide to go overboard this time?

Ginger: I had a Serenity party this weekend and just wanted to continue spreading the signal.

Ruby: Ginger, when you say you had a Serenity party this weekend, I feel I just…have to ask…why wasn’t I invited?

Ginger: …um…

Ruby: I mean, I know I don’t have the script memorized like SOME people, and I can’t name more than two planets in the ‘verse and, yes, one of them is Miranda, but still…didn’t I warrant an invitation at least? If for no other reason than to continue my Browncoat Education?

Ginger: …well…this was…a…that is…

Ruby: Of all the parties you spontaneously throw according to your mood, I have to say, this one I am jealous I missed! Was there Chinese food involved? Did everyone come dressed as a character? Did the more familiar with the film play Chinese checkers on the side? Did your niece run around screaming and trying to gnaw on people’s arms, like the little Reaver Princess she is?

Ginger: No, none of that happened…I just…

Ruby: You just what?

Ginger: LOOK BEHIND YOU, RUBY! It’s a GIANT DISTRACTION! I’ve never SEEN one so up close and distracting before!

Ruby: You know that doesn’t work on me, right?

Ginger: No. I thought I could try this time.

Ruby: So?

Ginger: It was a family thing. Kind of a spur of the moment thing.

Ruby: Oh.

Ginger: In my parents’ house, so it was a bit of a drive for you, too.

Ruby: Okay. Just your family, then?

Ginger: Yes. And a friend of my brother’s. But he had never seen it before, so all the fun was just watching his reactions, really.

Ruby: Well…I guess that’s okay…

Ginger: And the Caribou Coffee guy I met.

Ruby: What?

Ginger: He’s a Browncoat and we got to talking, and…

Ruby: What’s his name?

Ginger: Caribou Coffee Guy?

Ruby: So, let me get this straight: you had a Serenity party and didn’t invite me, because it was made up of your family, your brother’s friend and a complete stranger who you didn’t even bother to get his name?

Ginger: And his girlfriend. But she arrived late, so I don’t think she counts.

Ruby: You really wish that distraction thing had worked, don’t you?

Ginger: Yeah…but, I mean, if you think about it, this is your fault.

Ruby: How is this my fault?

Ginger: I said “trick-or-treat” and you didn’t give me a treat.

Ruby: …this is your trick?

Ginger: Happy Halloween?

Ruby: …so you didn’t really have a Serenity party?

Ginger: If that will get me out of this, then, yes. I didn’t really have a Serenity party.

Ruby: Okay.

Ginger: But I did watch it this weekend.

Ruby: Careful, Ginger…

Ginger: But it wasn’t a party.

Ruby: Hey, Ginger?

Ginger: Yes?
Ruby: Take a good look at that distraction behind you. I think you’ll be interested in it.

Ginger: Oooh! Where??

Leave a Reply

