Inexplicably Missing

Ginger: Ruby?

Ruby: Here.

Ginger: Wow…it feels like it’s been weeks since we last talked.

Ruby: It was.

Ginger: I mean, I feel like it was literally more than ten days since we shared our thoughts!

Ruby: It’s been more like seventeen days.

Ginger: It was like a writer’s strike.

Ruby: It was like you left town, got food poisoning, had to remain in the strange town until you got better and then tried to pretend it didn’t happen.

Ginger: None of that happened.

Ruby: How would I know? It’s Been Seventeen Days.

Ginger: What have you been up to?

Ruby: I was kidnapped by aliens who needed me to explain the cultural significance of the Fast & Furious franchise.

Ginger: …why did you watch all of the Fast & Furious movies?

Ruby: Because you left them here seventeen days ago!

Ginger: I’ve been looking for them, actually… I’m glad you found them. I was going to have to go out and replace them…

Ruby: Well, you can have them back now.

Ginger: Didn’t you like them?

Ruby: I have one question.

Ginger: Absolutely.

Ruby: Did you know that the discs for the third, fourth, fifth and sixth installments were all mixed up?

Ginger: Chronologically, no they’re not. Numerically, yes they are.

Ruby: I was halfway through the fourth one before Fly pointed out there was no evidence of Tokyo in the movie.

Ginger: Didn’t they drift a little bit?

Ruby: And then I read the back and found out the fifth takes place after the fourth, so I wasn’t surprised to find the fifth disc in the fourth disc’s case.

Ginger: But you watched the whole series, so you know why I did that.

Ruby: I don’t know why you left them here seventeen days ago in the first place!

Ginger: Well, it’s like this…if you knew you wouldn’t be around for a fortnight or so, wouldn’t you leave something for Fly to find in your absence?

Ruby: Where did you go seventeen days ago?

Ginger: Some things are just better left as mysteries.

Ruby: Ginger…

Ginger: Did you like the movies?

Ruby: …some things are just better left as mysteries.

Ginger: HEY! Only one of us can use that line in a conversation, Ruby!

Leave a Reply

