Gut Responses Are Not Always Wrong

Ginger: Ruby?

Ruby: I didn’t do it!

Ginger: Obviously you did some… Wait, isn’t that my line?

Ruby: I thought I’d try it out for once.

Ginger: …and?

Ruby: I can see the appeal.

Ginger: Right?

Ruby: What did you need, Ginger?

Ginger: Oh, right! I was getting ready for an upcoming trip and I remembered I lent someone my travel backpack and that there was an unfortunate spill involving shampoo leaking through a plastic ziploc and a promise to clean or replace said backpack and I was wondering if you remember this.

Ruby: I do.

Ginger: So, do you have my backpack?

Ruby: I didn’t do it.

Ginger: Ha, ha. You used that joke already.

Ruby: I remember the event. I didn’t do it.

Ginger: Really?

Ruby: Really.

Ginger: Who did?

Ruby: No clue. You never shared that part of the story.

Ginger: Darn. Well, then, onto Plan B. Ruby, can I borrow a backpack?

Ruby: Why don’t you try to remember who borrowed your backpack in the first place?

Ginger: Clearly, it’s meant to be this way. Otherwise, Fate wouldn’t have brought me here.

Ruby: Fate didn’t bring you here.

Ginger: Yeah, she did. She’s waiting in the car.

Ruby: You just enjoy doing that, don’t you?

Ginger: I’m not gonna lie… I do.

Ruby: I appreciate your honesty.

Ginger: Thank you.

Leave a Reply

