Words Are Fluid

Ruby: Ginger, you look confused. Or under-caffeinated.

Ginger: I can always go for coffee.

Ruby: Are you also confused?

Ginger: A little.

Ruby: What has confused you?

Ginger: I always thought I knew what adages were.

Ruby: Proverbs, adages and old sayings passed down from generations – you’re not a stranger.

Ginger: I know what they are. I know their words and their meanings.

Ruby: Are you challenging me to quiz you?

Ginger: Not really…I’m asking you to confirm what I believe to be a truth.

Ruby: Okay?

Ginger: I received an email from a coworker today that concluded with “Patience is a virtual LOL.”

Ruby: …wow.

Ginger: I just need to confirm that it wasn’t correct.

Ruby: It’s not the…traditional saying…

Ginger: I couldn’t bring myself to correct it.

Ruby: Well, it could be deep if you don’t try to correct it.

Ginger: …true…

Ruby: I mean, Ginger, they do say a broken clock is frightened twice a day.

Ginger: Well, yeah, but…what did you say?

Ruby: It’s fine, Ginger. You don’t need to correct it. It’s not entirely wrong.

Ginger: Except that it is entirely wrong!

Ruby: Are you sure?

Ginger: Yes!

Ruby: You need to let it go. It’s just water under the grids.

Ginger: …please don’t do that to me.

Ruby: Do what?

Ginger: Don’t start making adjustments to sayings that have worked for generations.

Ruby: Why not? Language is fluid. It changes constantly, with each new generation, words’ meanings shift ever so slightly.

Ginger: Well, we need to nip that in the butt.

Ruby: …bud.

Ginger: Wait, you can alter the words, but I can’t?

Ruby: It’s more fun when I aggravate you.

Ginger: You don’t need to tell me. You’re just singing to the preacher.

Ruby: That’s not even—

Ginger: And we both know a bird in the hand usually has a gang in the bushes waiting to steal your wallet.

Ruby: Now you’re just trying to be obnoxious.

Ginger: And you’re just being a pot calling a kettle and asking it to black out the neighborhood so you three can have an excuse to light candles.

Ruby: You have so many issues.

Ginger: Just remember you started this.

Ruby: …let’s just get you coffee.

Ginger: YAY!

Ruby: …that was your plan all along, wasn’t it?

Ginger: Only when you didn’t side with me.

Ruby: Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

