A Day Late & A Scholar Dork

Ginger: Ruby, can I have a dog?

Ruby: I expected you here yesterday.

Ginger: Why?

Ruby: Because you’ve been stopping by on Wednesdays recently.

Ginger: I’ll stop by next Wednesday.

Ruby: I’ll believe it when I see it.

Ginger: Can I have a dog?

Ruby: No.

Ginger: What? Why not?

Ruby: Who will feed it?

Ginger: You don’t have to be so rude. His name will be Socrates.

Ruby: Who will feed Socrates?

Ginger: Hemlock.

Ruby: That’s a bad idea, Ginger.

Ginger: No, my neighbor is named Hemlock. I think his first name is Tom.

Ruby: I’m going to push past the headache you’re bringing on…

Ginger: That’s brave of you.

Ruby: Why would your neighbor feed your dog?

Ginger: Because, I guess, technically, Socrates isn’t my dog.

Ruby: Who, technically, would own Socrates?

Ginger: Athens.

Ruby: …Ginger, don’t make me call your sister to settle this.

Ginger: No – you misheard me. I said the Athelings. That’s the family that lives in the apartment under Hemlock. They have twin girls named Christina and Margaret and a four year old named Edgar.

Ruby: Why would Hemlock feed Socrates, if Socrates is owned by Athelings?

Ginger: Hemlock has dog food. The Athelings do not.

Ruby: Why don’t they get dog food?

Ginger: Because Hemlock already has dog food in his place for his dog.

Ruby: I’m almost scared to ask…

Ginger: That dog is named Aristotle.

Ruby: Why doesn’t that surprise me?

Ginger: I’m not completely sure…but I could guess.

Ruby: So, why are you asking to have a dog that someone else feeds and another family owns?

Ginger: Well, because the Athelings are going out of town for a while. They’re taking a family trip to England, Scotland and Hungary. Not in that order.

Ruby: So, really, you’re just asking if you can help watch the dog while the family is out of town.

Ginger: Yes.

Ruby: In that case, sure. But only if Hemlock also promises to watch you while you watch Socrates.

Ginger: Yeah, I think he was already on that. He’s seen me around Aristotle. I’m lost as soon as he starts howling and carrying on…

Ruby: Right. You know, I never knew about your neighbors.

Ginger: Oh, yeah. They recently moved in. Edgar is a charming little prince and those twins are sweet girls – one of them is practically a saint.

Ruby: What about the other one?

Ginger: I don’t know much about her. She’s usually cloistered away reading and studying…quiet girl. She could be a saint, too. I don’t know.

Ruby: Your world is very strange, you know.

Ginger: I do know that.

Leave a Reply

