So…So Proud.

Ruby: Ginger, I’m very proud of you.

Ginger: Because I ate a salad for lunch? That’s nothing. Wait til you hear what I’m eating for dinner tonight.

Ruby: No, that’s not why I’m very proud of you.

Ginger: Are you proud because I watched an entire season of a TV show in three days and didn’t tell you to watch it? I don’t always tell you about my TV shows, Ruby.

Ruby: …no. That’s also not why I’m very proud of you.

Ginger: Was it because I made my bed this morning? I do that every morning. It’s not that big a deal, Ruby.

Ruby: No, Ginger. That’s not it, either.

Ginger: Well, I’m getting stumped here. I paid my bills, I fed the fish, I organized the back closet, I swept the floors, I re-organized my movie collection… What, exactly, made you very proud of me?

Ruby: You managed to kill the spider without naming it.

Ginger: …well, he clearly wasn’t the kind of spider who would abide by my house rules.

Ruby: Clearly.

Ginger: You have weird moments of pride.

Ruby: What are you eating for dinner tonight?

Ginger: I bought a bag of marshmallows and some coffee flavored ice cream.

Ruby: …please stay for dinner tonight.

Ginger: Why?

Ruby: So both of our mothers will be proud of your dinner.

Ginger: Okay, but I have to warn you – my mother rarely asks what I eat for dinner, so she probably won’t know to be proud.

Ruby: I’ll text her a picture.

Ginger: That could work…

Leave a Reply

