Shameless Plug

Ruby: Ginger…what are you doing?

Ginger: I’m making a Christmas present for my sister-in-law. What does it look like I’m doing?

Ruby: It looks like you’re hot-gluing fake white feathery wings to the back of a Captain America figurine.

Ginger: She needs a new Christmas tree topper.

Ruby: Isn’t she sort of scared of Captain America?

Ginger: It’s not my fault she thinks he’s stalking her.

Ruby: Actually, it is your fault. Almost entirely.

Ginger: How?

Ruby: You put a life-sized cardboard cut out of Captain America in front of any door to a room she was in, so that when she opened the door, there was the Cap.

Ginger: Why did she need to close the door so much? I mean, what exactly is she doing that she needs that much privacy?

Ruby: …using the bathroom or getting dressed, if I heard correctly. From her. So, I heard it correctly.

Ginger: Huh. Well, then it’s up to me to show her that he’s not something to be scared of…see? He’s angelic!

Ruby: You bought her Captain America pajamas, slippers and fleece blanket, too…didn’t you?

Ginger: I think it’ll work this year.

Ruby: Right. So, Ginger, out of curiosity…what do you want for Christmas? And don’t redirect me to your Amazon wish list…

Ginger: Fine. I won’t. I would like, instead, a copy of this new children’s book – called The Elephant Who Believes in Santa Claus, by V. Kaci Sehr. You can order it from www.islandofmaloo.com. She wrote it and illustrated it and I think it’s going to be a Christmas classic, if I do say so myself.

Ruby: Oddly specific of you…wait, don’t you know the author?

Ginger: Yeah…she and I were really close for a long time…it’s like we were the same person or I live inside her head or she lives inside my head or something…you’ve met her.

Ruby: Oh yeah…she seemed nice.

Ginger: So will you buy the book?

Ruby: Do I have a choice?

Ginger: Angelic Captain America says no. Not really.

Ruby: …I’m starting to side with your sister-in-law on the whole scare factor.

Leave a comment